iCan-(ish)

screen-shot-2017-02-04-at-4-03-30-pm

Screenshot while I was editing my first iMovie

As I mentioned in my last blog post, I got my first MacBook last week and I have been playing around with it ever since trying to figure out how to use it to its fullest. After our class this week, in which we were presented with a wide variety of different creation tools, including wonderful ones I have used in the past such as Powtoon, Videoscribe, and Prezi. One that I have always seen used by colleagues and peers alike, and one that I have always wanted to try but never had the hardware that could run the program, is iMovie.

As I also mentioned last week, my previous Learning Summary for #eci833 was edited with iMovie. However, Luke Braun edited it entirely on his own, so I never actually had the chance to try out this editing software. I have only heard great things, and after reading some suggestions for use and positive reviews, I decided I wanted to attempt using this program this week as part of our blog post for #eci834. Since getting this MacBook, I had planned on attempting to use it for for Final Learning Summary for this class, and I figured trying it out this week would help me figure out any kinks and problems I could run into before creating a full seven minute video come April.

Boy, am I happy I did! After quite a bit of time, energy, and occasional bits of frustration, I was able to make the following video. I am a little embarrassed to admit it took me three and half – four hours to make a short 2 and a half minute video of my two puppies. Now, it is nowhere near perfect (I am still unhappy with some of the transitions, with the ending, and with some of the text choices), but it did allow me the opportunity to play around within the application and determine some of the strengths and weaknesses from the point of view of a new-to-Apple “client”. I have not yet tried to add music from iTunes or GarageBand (which will be something new for me to experience with my Final Learning Summary), but I did play around with the sound effects and I was able to add a few jingles as background noise. Next time, I would also like to play around with background music as well as using my own narration as a voice-over, perhaps using an app like Audacity as tried out by Amy earlier this week.

Now iMovie is a well-known movie and video creation and editing application that is available on and through Apple products. It has a variety of options for creators to use: from themes, to fonts, to built-in sound effects, to easy connections with GarageBand (another Apple application for creating music) and iTunes, iMovie is a one-stop-shop for homemade videos.

That being said, it still has its strengths and weaknesses. Now, what follows is of course my very first time working with iMovie. I am sure my impressions will improve, as will my results, and my experience grows with such an application. So look forward to April when (hopefully!) my continued experience using iMovie will yield better results!

Strengths

Photo Credit: get directly down Flickr via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: get directly down Flickr via Compfight cc

  • It has everything you need to make a homemade movie built-in to its software, with the exception of the videos and the pictures that will make up the bulk of your video. This you need to import just as you would with any other movie-editing software.
  • It is very responsive.
  • It is easy to use – you just drag and drop the pictures, the music, and the text you want into the slots you want!
  • The built-in themes are nice and help give the videos a “professional” feel.
  • Once you have used a picture or a video in your movie, it indicates this with an orange bar through the image in your media gallery.
  • You can crop your pictures directly in the program.
  • It has a function which helps to edit the video for first-time users (i.e. automatically adding in transitions, adding picture animations, etc.)
  • It is extremely easy to upload to YouTube and share (which I found to be the biggest criticism and frustration whenever I worked with Movie Maker in the past).
  • You can make a video in little time with the proper experience (although it took me a few more than that… Next time will go much quicker, hopefully). It still takes me quite a bit of time, like Tony Bates mentions when speaking to the weaknesses of video.
  • You have a lot of options for your video, but I did not feel overwhelmed by too many options. It was the right balance.

Weaknesses

  • You need a Mac, iPad, or Apple product to use

    Photo Credit: Joe The Goat Farmer Flickr via Compfight cc

    Photo Credit: Joe The Goat Farmer Flickr via Compfight cc

  • I personally became frustrated when I tried to upload the pictures from my android – now, this can be blamed on my lack of “Apple” experience, but coming from PCs and Androids, I found it difficult to upload the pictures I wanted. It took a lot of time and effort to get the few pictures I required for my video (a lot of time – a little over 2 hours 15 minutes).  It is only after that we maybe found a solution for next time, which would be to use Apple’s Photo App to transfer from the phone, and then uploading through iMovie.
  • Some things are difficult to find within the application, like reducing the time that each picture will play in the video.
  • When adding the music, I could not figure out how to lock something in place, and so every time I wanted to insert something in between two songs already, and it was not the perfect length to fit into that space, it would bump one of the other two songs out of the way.
  • When adding text, I did not find it entirely intuitive. I had difficulty moving the text around exactly where I wanted to put it on the video frame.

What are your thoughts and experience with iMovie? Any strengths or weaknesses I missed? Or do you disagree with some of my experiences? Please fill out the poll below and add a comment in the section further down!

Until next time!

 

 

This entry was posted in EC&I 834. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to iCan-(ish)

  1. I’m glad i’m not the only one that is new to a Mac. I am on mat leave and one of the downfalls is having to return the ever so loved HP to the board office… I say ever so loved because at least I am somewhat familiar with the programs and capabilities of an hp and now I am using a mac which is very different, let the learning begin!! I too would like to eventually try to use iMovie, you have inspired me to do so! 🙂

    Like

  2. Twana2017 says:

    Great job Liz! Loved the Imovie! Not only great directorial skills but brilliant actors!

    Like

  3. You are brave – changing computers during this class. Well done! Loved the dog i-movie ( and the term (doblings 🙂

    Like

  4. First: your dogs are ADORABLE!
    I think I’m also going to be using iMovie for my summary of learning because I have it on my iPad and don’t have a board laptop anymore 😦 So this was incredibly helpful and means I haven’t procrastinated! Hooray! Thanks!!

    Like

    • Thanks Kelsie! You know, that was one of the reasons I actually went out to buy a computer – not that I am pregnant, but I hope to be sometime in the near future, and I knew that I would have to give away my computer once I went on mat leave. I am getting used to my Mac, and it’s turning out okay! I hope your Summary of Learning goes well on your iPad!

      Like

  5. Pingback: Crash course in Crash Courses – Kelsie Lenihan's EC&I Tech Blog

  6. Pingback: The Possibilities Are Endless!!!! – jaymeleelazorko

  7. ashleypmurray says:

    Good for you for trying the new program out! iMovie can be extremely difficult to learn and it does take a lot of time. Don’t feel bad about spending 3-4 hours to create a 2 minute video (which by the way turned out great). It does take a lot of time but I think it’s a great program that has a lot to offer with a lot o features built in as well.

    Like

  8. justinewheeler says:

    Your dogs are so cute. I love using imovie. I use it all the time to make videos for my class. It is really cool when you ge to explore it and add try different things. Great program!

    Like

Leave a Reply

